A Difficult Decision

Friend (frend) – noun – 1. a person attached to another by feelings of affection or personal regard. 2. a person who gives assistance.

Re-la-tion-ship (ri-ley-shuhn-ship) – noun – 1. an emotional or other connection between people. 2. a sexual involvement; affair.

In-ter-ven-tion (in-ter-ven-shuhn) – noun – 1. interposition or interference of one state in the affairs of another.

Much of my life is remembered by the friends I’ve gained and lost, these two usually being linked together. I find it very hard to trust people, and I am always afraid that the person closest to me is the next one to stab me in the back.

At my new school, however, my friends sincerely like me, not what I have. I love them all very much, and I have gotten especially close to two in particular.

Two of the friends in my group, two of my best friends, liked each other very much, and dated a little while. Let’s call them Jon and Jane. They ended up breaking up, as Jane was afraid that Jon fell in love with his ex-girlfriend again (and she lives back home, not where we are). A month or two went by, and Jane felt that she had fallen in love with Jon, and when we had a sleep over at my place they decided that they would be together again because they loved each other so much.

Now, by this time, another girl had joined our friend group. Lets call her Jessica. Jon liked Jessica while he and Jane weren’t dating, and Jane was afraid that as soon as he saw her again (even after they had decided they would be together) he would think sorry Jane, no can do.

A few weeks later, Jane was forced to leave the school – she’d been having major health and depression issues, and was sent home. She still loved Jon, but something else began to happen.

Jon and Jessica started dating, almost as soon as Jane left. Even though one of my other awesome friends (let’s call him Jerry) and I tried to talk them out of it (because they were completely taking Jane out of the picture)https://i2.wp.com/blog.adolflam.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/07/heart-question-mark.gif they did it. For a while, nobody knew they were together, because they were so shy. Then, they started getting braver, holding hands through school and kissing eachother on the cheek.

Things started to progress quickly. They started hanging out with our group less and less, and started become more physical with one another (this is a boarding school, so if anyone found out they’d had done anything sexual they would have been expelled, so they didn’t do anything in that area).

Eventually, they stopped hanging out with us all together.

At meals, they would eat as fast as possible, only talk to one another, then leave. When they weren’t together (if one was in class) the other would say hi distractedly then leave to wait for their partner, even if they had to wait for an hour.

Today, Jerry told me something incredibly shocking.

Jon’s roommate went into their dorm a few days ago, and found Jon and Jessica “doing things” on Jon’s bed. Firstly, you aren’t allowed to have anyone besides you and your roommate in your room during the school day. Secondly, you are not allowed to have a member of the opposite sex in the room unless there are four people present. This raised two things.

One: Jon had found a way to sneak Jessica into his room.

Two: Even though they had both been absolutely against all things sexual (even afraid of it), they were doing things when no one was looking.

Another thing that was alarming was that Jerry had seen them leaving Jon’s dorm from the side door many times with Jessica.

I’m terrified.

Our school is very strict. If you are caught drunk, you are expelled. If you have any drugs in your room or are found doing drugs at all, you are expelled. If you have sex at school, you are expelled.

I’m afraid that my two friends are going to get expelled.

The only thing those two have paid attention to during the last two months has been eachother. They are hardly focusing on their school work, their friends, or their problems with family, or any problems for that matter. I don’t know if they are blind to everything else because of their love for one another, or lust.

This weekend, I have Jon, Jessica, Jerry, and another friend (let’s call him Justin) coming to my house for a semester sleep over. Jerry and I are terrified that they’re going to try to slip off to a bedroom and do some “things”. This is when I’m going to make an intervention.

They’re losing all their friends – if they were to break up, they would have no one to talk to or to ask for advice or comfort. I am going to talk some sense into Jessica, and hope to god she understands me.

I don’t want to watch my friends leave everything behind, especially not their dreams. I don’t want to add them to my list of friends I’ve lost.

And I don’t want to watch them destroy themselves and lose the virtues I admired so much in them.

~ by linzy on January 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
