On Paranoia

Par-a-noi-a (par-uhnoiuh) – noun 1. Psychiatry, a mental disorder characterized by systematized delusions and the projection of personal conflicts, which are ascribed to the supposed hostility of others, sometimes progressing to disturbances of consciousness and aggressive acts believed to be performed in self-defense or as a mission. 2. baseless or excessive suspicion of the motives of others.

Everyone’s had that feeling of being watched. Whenever a human being is alone, their senses heighten dramatically and allow them to better understand if danger is near. Also, people have very distinct memories of terrifying experiences, whether those experiences are related to movies, or real life things. For some people, these two things are mixed, and when they are left alone, they feel terrified, as those terrifying memories flood back and remind them of what can happen when one is alone. This is what many people call paranoia.

Personally, I’m terrified whenever I’m alone in a house, appartment building, or hotel room. I’m afraid of opening closets lest I find bodies on the hangers, being murdered by people hiding in the basements, and also of having family killed while they had me at home alone. Sometimes, I’m scared of falling asleep, because I keep seeing that part in the Grudge where that girl thing comes up from the woman’s bed and kills her (shudder). I am a truly terrified and paranoid person. I can’t even walk my dog when it’s dark out because of a scary childhood memory (was walking the dog at night, I was in the middle of the park outside my house, and I saw this six foot tall shadow running towards me from the other side of the park – never been able to go without being terrified since).

But, does my being afraid of death and injury actually mean I am paranoid, or just afraid of what so many media have driven into people’s minds?

When I am scared, my brain is whizzing through the many movies and pictures I’ve seen of terrifying deaths and fictional hauntings and murders. None of my scary fantasies are based on real life expriences (well… the childhood memory effected my dog walking, I’ll give you that). Humans are naturally afraid of other humans and things we cannot explain, but it definitely doesn’t help. Not only do our own imaginations terrify us, but the imaginations of other people which were thrown into people’s faces terrify us, and although it is a means of amusement for many people, it’s not exactly a good thing for people who have an impressionable memory.

Our greatest fear is what is locked inside our heads, our terrifying imaginations which have the power to decide our actions. Our second greatest fear is what’s in the heads of others, which, upon giving a person an idea, may cause them to take action.

scary script writers

scary script writers

~ by linzy on December 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
